Abhyasa and Vairagya {Practice and Non Attachment}: Yoga Sutra 1.12

We have discussed this before that there are 3 types of seekers: Best, Medium, and Bad.

For those who are great seekers, Maharshi Patanjali has given them the Abhyasa and Vairagya Sutra on 1st Pada of Yoga Darshana.

If your mind is already refined, then you do not need to do much practice or Ashtanga Yoga. You are required to practice a little bit and have to pay little attention to Vairagya. By doing so you can achieve the ultimate goal of your life.

The flow of the thoughts of our mind is traditionally moving towards the world. It means that anyone can easily learn to live a normal life. But we have to make efforts to achieve a Yogic and excellent life. So Abhyasa and Vairagya is a solution to achieve such life.

What Are Abhyasa And Vairagya?

Abhyasa (Practice)

तत्र स्थितौ यत्नोऽभ्यासः (Tatr Sthitau Yatnobhyaasa)

The efforts that are made to stabilize the thoughts of the mind are Abhyasa. Some practice, some do chants, and some do Bhajan Kirtan. So through these kinds of practices, we can bring stability to our mind.

How to Do Abhyasa:

Maharishi Patanjali says that there are some things that are very important during these exercises.

Continuity: Continuity is necessary during practice. If we do pranayama and meditation for 1 week and then take 3-4 days gap, then this will not help you to achieve your goal.

Long period: Long-term means that we should have patience. It may take several years for us to achieve our accomplishment. Therefore, we should have patience and we must maintain the long-standing situation.

Honor: Whatever Abhyasa we do, we should have faith in it completely. Emotions are more important than rituals in spiritual activities. The more intense our emotions, the more intense we will get the results. So we should be fully honored in whatever practice we do. If we do with the incomplete mind, then we do not get much benefit.

Whatever practice you do, these three things must be present in them. If these three things go together, then it is very helpful in stabilizing the thoughts of the mind.

Vairagya (Non-Attachment)

Some of us consider the meaning of fondness to leave the house, family, friends and live in places like the forest and the Himalaya. But Maharishi Patanjali believes that the world dwells in the thoughts of our mind and removing that world from the thoughts of the mind is Vairagya. Mean to say that, wherever we have relationship/connections, gradually removing our mind from there and concentrate the mind towards the Divine.

2 Types of Vairagya

Apara Vairagya

Our Raj and Tam are completely eliminated in Apar Vairagya. To discredit yourself from the illusion topics that are in this world, it is called Apar Vairagya.

4 types of Apar Vairagya-

Yatmaan: The effort of distorting your Chitta Vrittis from world illusion.

Vyatireka: Self-analyzation.

Ekendriya: By reaching this state, our senses disappear, but there are some subtle expressions in the mind.

Vashikar: By reaching this state, the thoughts of our mind become completely concentrated.

Par Vairagya

As we know there are three qualities in the earth: Raj, Tama, and Sat. We have already removed Raj and Tam in Apara Vairagya and now Sat is left.

When the knowledge of a man becomes the essence of all the qualities of nature and our mind gets concentrated and moves only towards Dhayya, that stage is called Par Vairagya.

So Abhyasa and Vairagya is a process for the best seekers by which the results of their sadhana starts happening immediately.

Leave a Reply

Close Menu