Understanding Patanjali Yoga Sutra {A Detailed Summary For Beginners}

Patanjali Yoga Sutra

As we all know that Yoga philosophy has a very important place in Indian philosophy. As the purpose of philosophy is to get rid of any person with his sorrows. So this relief of sorrow is known in the Indian philosophy as salvation, construction, Kaivalya, etc.

But this situation can only be reached when we know the subtle knowledge of the substance. So to attain this subtle knowledge there is a special mortal state of Chitta.

So to achieve that state of mind, our sages have given a lot of guidance, by which we can achieve that ultimate glory in our life. One of these guidelines is Yoga Darshana in which summary of Yoga Sutra of Patanjali is given.

While Einstein experimented on the outside world, Maharishi Patanjali did Experiment on the world of consciousness. After that, he carried out the inner journey and internal analysis, rendered many such things through which he told ordinary people that if they follow him then they can also achieve that state of consciousness.

Yoga Sutra of Patanjali in Yoga Darshana Book

Yoga Darshana is a book in which Patanjali have discussed 195 sutras. Patanjali Yoga Darshana is such a book in which Maharishi Patanjali has revealed the dimensions of consciousness through which we can achieve salvation.

Patanjali Yoga Darshana has not been repudiated like other yoga philosophies. In this, the principles of yoga are discussed in simple and fewer words.

In this text, Maharishi Patanjali has brought the process of meditation, meditation practices in one place. There are many rules of religion in this book, through which a person can improve his lifestyles.

The Yoga Darshana has been divided into 4 chapters and each chapter is known as Pada (Unit). There are total 195 sutras in this book.

Samadhi Pada (51 Sutra)

In this Pada Characteristics of Yoga, Form of Yoga, and how to attain higher knowledge of Yoga is discussed. There are 3 types of people in the world, excellent nature, medium nature and inferior nature.

People of excellent nature are those who do a bit of worship and whose mind remains pure from previous birth and by doing some Sadhana (meditation), they can get success.

The way we first see the fertile field and after that, we think of other farms. In the same way, for those who are well-versed, Maharishi Patanjali has started the Samadhi foothills in addition to practice Vairagya, in which he has described Yoga.

Sadhan Paad (55 Sutra)

In Sadhan Paad, those people come who do not like worshiping, they have to bind themselves in some disciplines. As long as there is enmity in our mind, they keep giving us sorrow. As a remedy for how to end the enmity in our mind, Maharishi Patanjali has described Ashtanga Yoga in the Sadhana Pada.

Vibhuti Pada (55 Sutra)

In it, Maharishi Patanjali says that Vibhuti means Siddhi. When we adopt the path of sadhana, then on the basis of the perfection of our mind naturally, we get many accomplishments. That is why he has called Dharana, Dhyana, Samadhi as restraint, and when we focus that restraint on something, we get many accomplishments.

Patanjali has also said at the end of this Paad that those who are actually moving towards salvation are to avoid getting caught in these accomplishments.

Kaivalya Pada (34 Sutra)

Kaivalya means Liberation.  When a seeker is turned into his form, then that state is called liberation.

In Patanjali Yoga Darshana, Maharshi Patanjali teaches us through the symbols in these four chapters that our life begins with pleasure, but the purpose of our life goes towards the subconscious. So, while living in the world, gradually how to attain that high status, its complete information is present in Patanjali Yoga Sutras.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *