Know How To Practice Karmayog and Types Of Karma Yoga

The importance of Karmayog in various branches of yoga is very practical and unique because through Karma yoga we know the legislation to perform karma/work. Physical and mental work is called karma. Whatever we do, think or say, all this has an effect which comes in the form of reward at a certain time and the reward which is given is called fate.

We all know that there is a certain reward for every karma. Good deeds result in happiness, and the result of bad deeds results in sadness.

So the goal of yoga is freedom. So, to achieve that salvation, we have to retire from these karma bonds. Therefore the only way to get rid of karmic bondage is karma yoga.

Before understanding, Karma Yoga, know what karma is.

What is Karma?

The word karma is composed of the word “Kr” of Sanskrit which means work. So whatever we do or act in general, it is the karma.

But in Yoga, it has been said that karma is that in which our determination, emotion, and thoughts are gathered. As if you are going somewhere and an insect falls under your feet and dies, then the result is not found in sin. But deliberately if you kill or harm a creature, then you will get its result in the form of sadness.

2 Types of Karma and How to do Karma Yoga

These two Karmas have been described in Hindu mythological texts. We should do these Karmas with the sense of humor. According to Bhagwat Geeta, “Karma yoga is that which can be done efficiently”.

Vihit Karma (Canonical Karma)

Canonical deeds are those that we should do. There are also 4 types of Canonical deeds, which have been determined in the Vedas.

Nitya Karma (Daily Work)

The things we do every day are called Nitya Karma like getting up in the morning, going to the office, coming home, etc. So while doing Nitya Karma we have to bring in the feeling of unselfish Karma inside us, unselfish Karma means that our desires are not to be associated with it. This one is your daily Karma Yoga practice.

Naivittik Karm

As if a child is born in the house then we should celebrate it by worshiping God, doing Yagya etc. This is another type how you can practice Karma Yoga. So such auspicious Karma is also called Karma Yoga.

Kamya Karma (Good Deeds)

If we do any work or we do any rituals with any desire, then that work also becomes our Karma Yoga.

Prayaschit Karma (Atonement Deeds)

Whenever we do any wrong thing or we feel that we have made a mistake. Then, by correcting deeds, correcting the mistakes is called Prayaschit Karma.

Nishidddh Karma (Prohibited Karma)

It has been described in the Vedas, which of the Karma we should not do.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *