5 Kleshas in Yoga According to Maharishi Patanjali

Panch Kleshas

Nowadays, wherever we look in the world, everyone looks unhappy. What is that sadness for which we are so troubled? Then our sages finally concluded that there are some tribulations in our mind that cause these Kleshas.

Patanjali describes the Kleshas in 3rd Sutra of 2nd Pada– Avidya+Asmita+Raga+dwesh+Abhinivesha (अविद्यास्मितारागद्वेषाभिनिवेशाः क्लेशाः।). These are five such Kleshas due to which we are unhappy.

Avidhya, Asmita, Raga, and Dwesha, the reason for these 4 troubles is ignorance. So when these four Kleshas happen in the form of Avidya, Maharshi Patanjali has told four stages for these.

Four Stages of Kleshas

Prasukt i.e Avidhya

That state of Kleshas in which it has tribulation but it is not functioning. Like in a baby these kleshas exist but are not active.

Tanu (Dilute) i.e Asmita

The condition of reducing Klesh is called the dilute stage.

Vichinn (Deviated) i.e Raga

When the intensity of the Raga Klesh is less.

Udar (Generous) i.e Dwesha

When the intensity of the Dwesh Klesh is high. Just like you hate a person and your hatred gets intense towards him when the person comes closer to you. That is when any Klesh happens in full intensity.

Panch Kleshas By Patanjali

Avidhya (Ignorance)

Ignorance means that there is no discretion. Avidhya is such a Klesh that if we do not pay attention towards it than the other Kleshas continue to grow. Maharshi Patanjali says following this about Avidhya in Yoga Sutra.

  • The real truth in the world is our soul. Generally, people think only about their bodies, although it is also necessary to pay attention to the body it is wrong to give full attention towards the body. Maharishi Patanjali says that if you look at the body by opening it, then we also begin to hate the body.
  • After some time our body is about to end but we have begun to think of it as forever.
  • The happiness we get related to the body is the result of suffering in the end.
  • This body is mortal but we have a sense of our soul in it.

Asmita (Ego)

Ego is due to the existence of ignorance. The dissolution of the unity of man and mind creates a sense of asmita.

Raga (Attachment)

Wherever we feel the pleasure, we have a lot of attachment there. According to today, we all are very attached to our phones. Let’s say that your phone fell down from your hand and break down into pieces. At that time you feel very sad and become upset because you have a very strong attachment towards your phone. So attachment is also a Klesh that leads us to the downfall.

Dwesha (Hatred)

Our thoughts are tied according to some person, place, and situations. According to that thought, if we do not get the proper response, then we start to hate those things. Hatred is a tribulation that binds us with such complexity in the bonds of karma, which we have to face in every birth. Therefore, the great sage says that we should not hate anybody so that this karmic ritual does not make us incompatible with complexity.

Abhinivesha (Fear of death)

If you ask a madman to look down from a building top and also ask a great person to look down from the building top, then surely both will be scared. This is said to be fear of death and it is traditional.

So in this way, these five troubles bring sadness into our lives.

Yoga for Kleshas

We have already discussed Viveka Khyati. So discrimination knowledge is awakened in Viveka Khyati, by which these punch masters are removed. But before that, we have to reduce the intensity of these Kleshas.

According to Maharishi Patanjali, the intensity of these Kleshas is reduced by Kriya Yoga and meditation. With Kriya Yoga and meditation, we reduce the intensity of these Kleshas and then reach the samadhi phase to awaken Viveka Khyati.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *