What is Samadhi in Yoga? | Two Types of Samadhi By Patanjali

What is Samadhi in Yoga? | Types of Samadhi by Patanjali

Samadhi is a state in which the obstacles of our mind are locked and the expanse of the seeker’s life ends.

This is the state in which man takes control of all his senses and puts all his powers into the divine.

As we discussed in ashtanga yoga about Samadhi that, through Dharana and Dhyana, we concentrate our Vritti. Now, we divert this vritti towards our target and that target is known as Dheha (Dheha means our target on which we focus during Meditation). And when doing so, the seeker’s self-existence ends, then that state is called Samadhi.

When we enter our inner consciousness by meditation, then gradually our existence begins to accept the full depth of that consciousness which brings about a lot of changes in our conscience. These moments of change are said to have been called Samadhi by Maharishi Patanjali.

Types of Samadhi by Maharishi Patanjali

Maharishi Patanjali described this Samadhi as 2 types.

Sampragyat Samadhi

Maharishi Patanjali describes Sampragyaat Samadhi in 41th Sutra of 1st Pad. There are 3 topics in our body– Graahy, Garhan, and Grihita. When we move ahead in this stage, our mind will become soft and pure like a crystal gem.

Graahy (Acceptable): Five greatness (Panch Mahabhoot- Prithvi {Earth}, Jal {Water}, Agni {Fire}, Vayu  {Air}and Akash {Sky}) and their subjects (Roop{Form}, Ras {Liquid}, Gandh {Odor} and Sparsh {Touch}).

Grahan (Acceptance): Our senses and ego.

Graheeta (Accepted): Concentrate on the mind.

When we make control on these three topics, the change that happens in our mind is called the Sampragyaat Samadhi.

Maharishi Patanjali described 4 types of Sampragyaat Samadhi in 17th number Sutra of 1st Paad.

1- Vitarkaanugat or Savitarka (Application of Thoughts)

The topic of our target in Vitarkaanugat Samadhi is very gross. Vitarkaanugat is that which goes ahead with arguments.

In this, Patanjali explained the Vitarkaanugat and said in the 43rd Sutra of the first Paad, that the word (Shabd), meaning (Arth), and knowledge (Gyan) who accompanies these three elements together is a Savitarka. And gradually when our memory goes clean, in such a situation both Shabd and Gyan disappear, and only Arth remains and that state is called Nirvitark Samadhi (Disciple) {Elimination of argument is called Nirvitark}.

2- Vichaaraanugat or Savichara (Cognition)

The subject of our target in Vichaaraanugat Samadhi is subtle. That is, our senses, mind, and ego are involved. The only difference between Vitarkaanugat and Vichaaraanugat is that, in the Vitarkaanugat, the elements of the gross (element of gross means five greatness and their elements) are present and in the Vichaaraanugat the elements of the subtle (element of subtle means senses and mind) are present.

3- Anandanugat or Ananda (Conscious Bliss)

So when our Vichaaraanugat Samadhi ends, then there is a manifestation of Anandanugat and Asmitanugat.

The meaning of this is that the arguments, fluctuation, ideas have ended, and now the seeker takes the feeling of bliss.

4- Asmitanugat or Ashmita (Disembodiment)

In Asmitanugat samadhi, the seeker starts approaching the mind, where he experiences that my body and mind are different.

Now here Maharshi Patanjali says that when the seeker reaches into this stage, he gets the Prasad of spirituality (Ritambhara Pragya).

Ritambhara Pragya: A true and clear knowledge is Ritambhara Pragya. Just as we are getting information about this true knowledge (Samadhi) through books and the Internet, but Ritambhara means to experience this true knowledge itself.

Then in this state, vritti are started to be obstructed. In which we see the difference between man and Chitta and it is known as Vivek Khyati. After Vivek Khyati, the next stage of Samadhi is Par Vairagi.

Asampragyaat Samadhi

Through it, all the thoughts of the mind are inhibited and it is a calm and steady state. There are some disorders of detention even till this stage, when gradually the detention also ends, then we start moving towards Kaivalya.

So through the Samadhi, Maharshi Patanjali told that Samadhi started immediately after the Vitarkaanugat Samadhi and in the end, the vritti of the mind becomes detention. In this process, the seeker’s vritti becomes zero.

So this is all the Samadhi concept of Maharishi Patanjali by which we start moving towards the goal of yoga.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *